An Overturned Lantern

A lit candle atop an overturned lantern,
The lantern smashed; its dim light was grimly seen
A broken pattern, my hope’s been aptly shattered,
But still a dying candle illuminates the unlit scene

I see it now, my life’s been completely reborn
The fading embers aren’t remembered when they hit the floor
I watched with eyes wide, my mind’s in a hollow disgust
It looks like all my past intentions passed me when they bit the dust

Oh! A mouth full of blasphemous sand!
I thought that chewing on the memories would lead me to the promised land
But that was just a mirage; now I’m dying of thirst
God, You gotta come and fill me up ’til I’m tot’lly submersed.

And send a curse to the lies that I keep believin’!
Snip the strings that Satan’s got me on to do his biddin’,
Pullin’ me all over, ’til I’m dizzy, unsure of everything that I really ought to live for
I try to take a breath, but I haven’t found a cure

I pass out atop the stairs
If I’m fallin’, I am unaware
The voices tell me that I should be scared
If I’m fallin’, I am unaware

It’s a moment where I need to trust
Forget the life of only “us”
Your voice tells me that I must
Forget the life of only “us”

Leave a Reply

