A Poem To My Father – from February 26th

Found a really nice poemy thing from February 26th in my journal… Not all of it is necessarily how I feel right now, but it’s good thoughts, and I just really enjoyed reading it. =)

Dear Father,

You are lovely,
beyond what I can say,
beyond what I can know

You establish my ways
and prepare my path before me

You live in splendor;
my eyes would shudder to see Your face
Yet You do not boast Your position;
You made Yourself nothing for me

Every day You set the world in motion,
in beauty, in love

You are the Father of love
and it’s only pure author

Your thoughts alone can bend time and space,
and Your words part the seas

The sparkle in Your eyes sets my feet in motion;
the dance of my days goes on for Your praise

Every touch, every beautiful thing,
each kind word, every pleasure
has its origin in You
and are but mockeries of Your Divine satisfaction

When my foot falters on the path,
You take my hand and raise me high,
lifting me up on Your shoulders to ride

I wonder, Father, if You hear me at times –
not in actuality but in practicality
For I live in wretchedness many days;
yet why should I forsake my life?

You have made my days beautiful
so that the joys are colors of light hues,
and the tempestuous troubles are darker variations,
all masterfully painted as a portrait of my existence,
hung upon the wall of Your throne room,
for I am precious in Your sight

May You be so precious in my sight!

You have certainly heard my prayers;
You weigh my requests
and give Your good gifts when all is ready

You hear my groanings and words of bitter sorrow;
You put Your hand gently upon my shoulder
and weep with me in a vacant room

You listen to me when I plead with You
for the life of my friends,
for the soul of my own sister

Am I a hymn-writer, O God?
Father, look at how You have fashioned Your son!
My pen writes in ink now –
in a school in Grand Rapids, MI,
on a pen from Nashville, Tennessee

I wish I could say my eyes never leave You,
but my heart wanders fast.
I wish I could say this world didn’t phase me,
but it often has me in its subtle grasp

Why should the created thing
captivate my heart
and refocus my eyes
away from its very Creator?

Am I simply a distractable child,
never satisfied with one thing
but always moving on to new excitement?

Father, help me to see all the excitement in You;
hold my heart close to Yours;
let us sit together and talk beside the fireplace

I am ever Yours;
may it be lived out
in my heart
and in my life

Your son,

Ryan Vegh

3 thoughts on “A Poem To My Father – from February 26th

  1. My…how lovely! I dearly love this. :D Wonderful thoughts!! Thank you for posting it!! Gotta love finding forgotten writings… :)

    Ever so lovely chatting with you today! See you soon!!! :D
    ~the queen

  2. Thank you so much, queen Hannah!! Absolutely can’t wait to see you and even to hear how the retreat went. =D I was praying for you guys all the time. So very lovely talking with you the other day indeed! As always. =) Be blessed! I’ll be home in about 2 days. Then I’ll have internet again and not just sparcely. =D
    ~the king

    Thanks mom! =) Simple and to the point. Heh. Glad I’ll be home soon!
    ~your son

Leave a Reply

